Business, Community and Education Leaders Honored at Broward Education Foundation’s Publix Super Markets Charities 2023 Hall of Fame Award Breakfast

Distinguished Alumni of Broward County Public Schools recognized

Distinguished leaders in business, education, and the community who are alumni of Broward County Public Schools were honored at the Publix Super Markets Charities 2023 Hall of Fame Award Breakfast, Presented by Memorial Healthcare System, on Thursday, December 7 at the Marriot Harbor Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale.

“It was our privilege to honor and show our appreciation for these dedicated leaders, mentors, and role models who have made their mark in business, education, and throughout our community,” said Broward Education Foundation Board Chair Jean McIntyre.

The 2023 Broward Education Foundation Hall of Fame honorees include:

Receiving the JM Family Enterprises, Inc. Bravo! Award, presented to an alumnus who has made an indelible mark in the community, is Fonnie Gill. Throughout her 50-year career, Gill continues to carry forward the valuable lessons she learned from teachers in Broward County Public Schools, particularly those in literacy, history, creativity, and self-sufficiency. A graduate of Pompano Beach High School class of 1969, Gill serves as Vice-President of Centennial Bank in Pompano Beach.

Community leaders receiving the Office Depot Community Achievement Award for alumni who have made significant accomplishments in any field are:

Wilnar Julmiste, Esq., Managing Attorney, Julmiste Legal, Fort Lauderdale High School class of 2000

Teddy Morse, Chairman & CEO Ed Morse Automotive Group, Coral Springs High School class of 1993

Nitin Motwani, Managing Partner of Merrimac Ventures. Fort Lauderdale High School class of 1997

Recipients of the Broward Teachers Union Education Achievement Award for their dedication to a career in public education are:

Jeannie Krouch, Kindergarten Teacher and Equity Liaison for Westchester Elementary School, Dillard High School, class of 1992

Joseph Luechauer, Broward County Public Schools Music and Performing Arts K-12 Curriculum Supervisor, South Broward High School class of 1983

Jocelyn Reid, Principal, Walker Elementary School, Boyd Anderson class of 1990

“Each year, our Hall of Fame Awards are bestowed upon distinguished alumni of Broward County Public Schools who have made significant impacts both in their careers and within our community,” said Shea Ciriago, CEO of Broward Education Foundation. “We are very proud to induct once again such a distinguished class into our Hall of Fame.”

The 2023 honorees were additionally honored with an engraved granite star on the BrightStar Credit Union “Walk of Fame” plaza at the Broward County Public Schools district office, 600 S.E. Third Ave. in Fort Lauderdale.

In addition to Publix Super Markets Charities, Memorial Healthcare System, and BrightStar Credit Union, sponsors included Ed Morse Automotive Group, Broward Navy Days, JM Family Enterprises, Inc., Office Depot, Broward Teachers Union, and LEGO Construction.