NAIOP South Florida Announces Awards of Excellence Winners During Virtual Ceremony

NAIOP South Florida, the Commercial Real Estate Development Association, has announced the winners of the annual Awards of Excellence, which recognize industry professionals and organizations who exemplify excellence and have helped fuel business and economic growth in South Florida.

Tracy Miller and Mary Harris

The winners are usually recognized during a dinner and reception, but due to the pandemic, the celebration moved online and winners were announced live during a virtual program on NAIOP South Florida’s YouTube channel. This year, NAIOP South Florida will hand-deliver awards to the winners personally. Co-chairs of this year’s Awards of Excellence were Mary Harris of Berger Commercial and Tracy Miller of Miller Construction.

“While we would have preferred to celebrate in person this year, we shifted gears to properly recognize the nominees and the winners in the best way possible,” said NAIOP South Florida Executive Director Jules R. Morgan. “We appreciate the support of our finalists, winners, sponsors and volunteers as we have navigated the COVID-19 crisis and look forward to celebrating with the winners in person when it is safe to do so.”

The Awards of Excellence winners are:

Sale of the Year

  • Land Sale: Avison Young, AVE Aviation and Commerce Center
  • Private Client Sale: Native Realty, Hive and Flagler Uptown
  • Institutional Sale: CBRE, 800 Brickell and CBRE, The Avant at Pembroke Pines

Industrial Lease Transaction of the Year: Flagler Global Logistics / CBRE, Countyline Corporate Park

Office Lease Transaction of the Year: Cushman & Wakefield, Lennar Corporation

Economic Impact Deal of the Year:

  • Miami Dade Winner: JLL – Bal Harbour Shops
  • Broward County Winner: Greater Fort Lauderdale Alliance/JLL – Spirit Airlines Headquarters

Broker Team of the Year

  • Industrial: Team of L. Dinner, L. Genet, T. O’Loughlin and J. Zebede – CBRE
  • Investment: Team of B. Bloodworth, E. Brais, J. Crotty, B. de la Fe, D. Duckworth and M. Fay – Avison Young
  • Office: Team of J. Gomez, T. Herring, D. Lobinsky, C. Kulp and K. Ridgway – Cushman & Wakefield

Broker the Year: Douglas K. Mandel – Marcus & Millichap

Rookie of the Year: Mary Harris – Berger Commercial Realty

Member of the Year

  • Lauren Pace – Sunbeam Properties
  • Nicholas Mau – FirstPointe Advisors, LLC

Project of the Year: Miami Central Commons, Foundry Commercial

Developer of the Year: Bridge Development Partners

Iconic New Project of the Year: Auberge Beach Residences & Spa Fort Lauderdale, The Related Group

This marked the first time a company has been named Developer of the Year two years consecutively, according to Morgan. “Bridge Development Partners is a leader in the industrial market sector and highly recognized for developing flexible-use facilities on underdeveloped land parcels in markets with limited land supply. This is a much-deserved win for a company who consistently turns complex opportunities into high-value assets,” she said.

The state of South Florida commercial real estate in 2019 was strong, with so many noteworthy accomplishments, added NAIOP South Florida President Stephanie Rodriguez, Vice President of Duke Realty. “Although we transitioned our ceremony to an online platform this year, we continue to look forward to the many upcoming collaborative and educational events currently in the planning stages, where we can continue to connect and learn from one another,” she said.

At the time the awards ceremony was cancelled, the fresh food items were already ordered and paid for. Harris and Miller then personally delivered the fresh foods to LifeNet4Families, a community organization that provides 300 hot meals daily to individuals experiencing food insecurity in Broward County, and the Salvation Army Family Shelter.

For more information about the Awards of Excellence and NAIOP South Florida, visit To view the ceremony, visit: