NAIOP South Florida Announces Finalists for 2019 Awards of Excellence

NAIOP South Florida, the Commercial Real Estate Development Association, has announced the finalists for its 2019 Awards of Excellence, which recognize the individuals and organizations whose achievements have contributed to the local commercial real estate industry, benefitted the regional business environment and facilitated economic growth in South Florida.

The Awards of Excellence ceremony and dinner will take place on Thursday, March 14 from 6 to 10 p.m. at the Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, located at 3030 Holiday Dr. in Fort Lauderdale.

The 2019 Awards of Excellence categories and finalists are:

Land Sale of the Year:

  • Curley Notre Dame Development Site, Avison Young
  • Former Office Depot Development Site, Avison Young
  • FPL Land Development Site, Avison Young

Office Sale of the Year Over $50 Million

  • 1111 Brickell, CBRE
  • 1 E. Broward Sale, NAI/Merin Hunter Codman

Office Sale of the Year Under $50

  • The Atrium at Broken Sound, Marcus & Millichap
  • Heron Bay Office/Retail Portfolio, Tiktin Real Estate Investment Services
  • Plantation Corporate Center, Marcus & Millichap

Industrial Sale of the Year

  • Cabot Properties Acquisition of Vista Distribution Center, Cushman & Wakefield
  • Countyline Corporate Park, HFF
  • Tamarac Corporate Headquarters, CBRE

Industrial Lease Transaction of the Year

  • Nestle Waters, CBRE
  • Postal Center International Lease, CBRE and Cushman & Wakefield
  • Shipmonk at Bridge Point Riverbend, CBRE and Colliers International

Office Lease Transaction of the Year

  • The Main Las Olas Akerman Lease, Stiles
  • Modernizing Medicine, JLL
  • World Fuel Services Lease Restructure, CBRE

Economic Impact Deal of the Year

  • Modernizing Medicine, JLL
  • Shipmonk at Bridge Point Riverbend, CBRE and Colliers International
  • Spirit Airlines Headquarters Expansion at the Miramar Park of Commerce, Sunbeam Properties & Development

Industrial Broker Team of the Year

  • CBRE team of D. Albert, A. Fernandez and D. White
  • Cushman & Wakefield team of M. Etner, R. Etner, U. Kauhi, M. McAllister, C. Metzger, J. Miller, A. Talbot and C. Thomson
  • State Street Realty team of B. Cabielles, E. Lyden, G. Pino and F. Trelles

Capital Markets Broker Team of the Year

  • Avison Young team of J. Crotty, D. de la Fe, D. Duckworth and M. Fay
  • CBRE team of R. Bassett, N. Castillo, C. Charre, M. Isla, J. Jin and P. Weimer
  • CBRE team of J. Chick, A. Chilgren, A. Julian, C. Lee, J. Lobon, M. Minaya, T. Ploshnick and R. Rose
  • Marcus & Millichap team of E. Gerberg, A. Klein, T. Kuhlman and D. Mandel

Office Broker Team of the Year

  • Avison Young team of L. Blummer, J. Cope and G. Martin
  • Blanca Commercial Real Estate team of T. Blanca, A. del Corral, F. Eternod, J. Guitar, D. Linares, P. Marchese, M. Nathanson and J. Ruiz
  • Butters Realty & Management team of S. Butters, D. Lunsford and M. McDonough

Broker of the Year

  • Douglas Mandel of Marcus & Millichap
  • George Pino of State Street Realty
  • Stephanie Rodriguez of Duke Realty
  • Zachary Talbot of CRESA

Rookie of the Year

  • Shane Decker of GRS Real Estate Services
  • Tyler Kuhlman of Marcus & Millichap
  • Lauren Pace of Sunbeam Properties & Development
  • Danielle Story of Stiles

Project of the Year

  • Carrie Meek International Business Park Phase I, II and III, Foundry Commercial
  • Eastview Commerce Center, Newmark Knight Frank on behalf of Panattoni Development
  • MiamiCentral Office Buildings 2 and 3, Blanca Commercial Real Estate

Developer of the Year

  • Bridge Development Partners
  • Duke Realty
  • Foundry Commercial

Iconic New Project of the Year

  • Panorama Tower, Florida East Coast Realty

NAIOP South Florida will also present the Lifetime Achievement Award to CBRE Senior Vice President Harry Tangalakis, whose countless successes and contributions throughout his 30-year career in commercial real estate warrant the same distinction awarded to Edward Ansin, Armando Codina, Doug Eagon, Alice Lucia Jackson and Terry Stiles among others.

Tickets for the Awards of Excellence are $175 for NAIOP members and $225 for non-members. Sponsorship opportunities are also available. To attend, visit For more information, visit, email or call 954-990-5116.