NAIOP South Florida Selects 2021 Awards of Excellence Finalists

 South Florida’s trusted commercial real estate development association will celebrate at Marriott Harbor Beach Resort on May 20

NAIOP South Florida, the Commercial Real Estate Development Association, has announced the Awards of Excellence finalists for 2021 and confirmed Thursday, May 20 for the 42nd Awards of Excellence reception and dinner at the Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, 3030 Holiday Dr.

The annual celebration, which acknowledges excellence throughout the South Florida commercial real estate (CRE) industry, will be held outdoors with limited capacity from 5:30 to 9 p.m.

“The pandemic has presented many unanticipated challenges for our industry and beyond. The industry has also witnessed incredible business opportunities, and that commercial real estate can pivot here in South Florida,” said NAIOP South Florida Executive Director Jules R. Morgan. “We can’t wait to unify our community in celebration this year as we look forward to honoring those accomplishments of our members.”

“There were so many exceptional nominations to review this year, even in a global pandemic. It has been wonderful to witness so many of our industry peers continuing to thrive in their professional endeavors despite the many challenges we have all faced,” noted Stephanie Rodriguez, 2020 NAIOP South Florida Immediate Past President and this year’s Awards of Excellence chair, and regional senior vice president, Duke Realty. “This year was about resilience and perseverance, and the CRE industry has done a tremendous job exemplifying these values. Congratulations to all of our distinguished finalists on a job well done.”

The 2021 Awards of Excellence categories and finalists are:

Sale of the Year


  • Bayview Corporate Tower, Cushman & Wakefield
  • Easton & Associates’ $15.5M Sale of Palm Beach County Warehouse, Cushman & Wakefield
  • Elion Partners Acquisition of Former Rexall Sundown Warehouse, Cushman & Wakefield



    • 19th Avenue Business Park, Marcus & Millichap
    • Bang Energy Portfolio Sale, CBRE, Inc., Helms Development & Core5
    • DemeTech USA, State Street Realty
    • Invincible Boats, CBRE, Inc.


    • 3700 Lakeside Drive, Butters Realty & Management
    • Golden Bear Plaza, MHCommercial Real Estate Fund
    • Miramar Tech Center, Cushman & Wakefield

Industrial Lease Transaction of the Year

  • First Cypress Commerce Park, Colliers International
  • Lowe’s Home Centers, LLC, CBRE
  • Miami 27 lease to Intcomex, Colliers International

Office Lease Transaction of the Year

  • Morgan Stanley, JLL
  • Starboard Cruise Services, Cushman & Wakefield
  • TradeStation Lease extension at Crossroads Office Park, Avison Young

Rookie of the Year

  • Michael Oretsky of CBRE, Inc
  • Alex VanDresser of Cushman & Wakefield

Broker of the Year

  • Douglas Mandel of Marcus & Millichap
  • Jaime Sturgis of Native Realty
  • George Pino of State Street Realty

Broker Team of the Year


  • CBRE team of L. L. Dinner, L. Genet, T. O’Loughlin, M. Oretsky, J. Zebede
  • Cushman & Wakefield team of M. Etner, R. Etner, U. Kauhi, M. McAllister, C. Metzger,
    Miller, C. Thomson, A. VanDresser
  • State Street Realty team of C. Cabielles, J. Gonzalez, E. Lyden, G. Pino, F. Trelles


  • CBRE’s South Florida Institutional Capital Markets Team of A. Chilgren, A. Julian, C. Lee, J. Lobon, M. Minaya, T. Rappa, R. Rose
  • Cushman & Wakefield Capital Markets Team of M. Alcivar, M. Ciadella, J. Hochman,
    Miller, D. Montazemi, S. O’Donnell


  • Avison Young’s Landlord Agency Team, Ft. Lauderdale of L. Blumer, J. Cope, G. Martin
  • Blanca Commercial Real Estate Tenant Rep Team of R. Carballo, C. Harak, D. Linares,
  • The Dream Team at Butters Realty & Management of S. Butters, C. Fleischer,
    Lunsford, M. McDonough


  • JLL Miami Retail Team of K. Fernandez-Espinosa, A. Kaye, L. Koniver, R. Romero,

Economic Impact Deal of the Year

  • Miami Central Commons, Foundry Commercial
  • Pursuit Boats, Economic Development Council of St. Lucie County
  • River Landing Shops & Residences, Urban-X Group

Project of the Year

  • Costex Corporation Headquarters, Link Construction Group
  • Port Everglades International Logistics Center, Avison Young & CenterPoint Properties
  • River Landing Shops & Residences, Urban-X Group
  • The Main Las Olas, Stiles

Developer of the Year

  • Bridge Development Partners
  • Butters Construction & Development
  • Stiles
  • Urban-X Group

Tickets for the Awards of Excellence are $175 for NAIOP members and $225 for non-members. Sponsorship opportunities are also available. To attend, visit For more information, visit, email or call 954-990-5116.